Trying flights tutorial, problem with using renku update

Hello, I am new to Renku and I am trying to go through the following tutorial: First Steps Tutorial — Renku documentation.

When I try the Build a reproducible workflow > Update your results, I get an error when I call

renku update -all
I get a very long log message, including
Writing failed [Errno 2] No such file or directory: ‘tmp/avirphlu/.cache/black/20.8b1/tmp1_8anv1r’
And I don’t see modifications in 01-CountFlights.ran.ipynb after updating 00-FilterFlights.py. I then tried to run 01-CountFlights.ipynb again, but now I get the same error and
data/output/2019-01-flights-count.txt is unchanged and
renku status
give me some Outdated outputs and Modified inputs no matter how many times (OK, once should have been enough) I try to call ranku update --all!

I am confused on how I should use renku update and on why it is not updating data and notebooks as expected. Could someone help?

Thanks!

Hi! I do not see anything obviously erroneous in what you posted. Is your project on RenkuLab? If so, could you post a link to it? (You may need to make it internal or public so I can see it.) I can take a look at the project to better understand what is going on.

Yes, the project is on RenkuLab and I just made it public. Looking at the output files (.csv and .txt in data/output/), the renku update –all command seems to have worked fine (I changed ‘AUS’ to ‘CLE’ in 00-FilterFlights.py to test a new change). However, I expected to see 01-CountFlights.ran.ipynb to be updated with a modified output after I change 00-FilterFlights.py and run renku update –all, but it does not.

In the very long output when I call renku update –all I see “Writing failed: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: “ which might or might not be related to my issue.