Training pauses after several hours

Hi there

I’ve been observing a strange behaviour when training my model on renku. After several hours training seems to pause and only continues when I reconnect via VPN and reload my browser. I noticed it by checking how frequently Tensorboard was written; at some point there were no more updates written to it. This happened several times now. Last time I started training on Friday, April 15th around 4pm and it continued until 22:51 the same day. After that it stopped (at epoch 35 out of 500, no early stopping) and I could only get it back to running by connecting to renku again. After that training would automatically resume at epoch 36. But it looks like to me that in between these hours no progress has been made.

See screenshots of Tensorboard below which indicate the timing (epoch 0 to 35), and notice the huge time gap between epoch 35 and 36 on 16.4. at 11:31 (this is right after I reconnected to renku). Also note that I haven’t killed the renku session or turned off my laptop. I know that it went to sleep mode and that my vpn client got disconnected. However, as far as I know this should be the problem as the job has been submitted to the renku machine and I would expect it to just keep running even though there’s no vpn connection established during the whole training time. Also note that I don’t run training in jupyter notebook, I call my python script from the terminal within the visual studio code extension in renku (python src/main.py)

I’d appreciate your support on this as it’s been quite annoying. I am losing valuable training time by having my model just sitting there on idle.

This is on renku limited and a project with 2 GPUs.

Hi can please somebody look into this?
I am losing days of work because the training is not working properly.

Thank you.